An ATEM Mini is a hardware switcher that starts at $445 and streams without a computer; OBS is free software that needs a computer to do everything. The Mini Pro has 4 HDMI inputs and can also feed OBS as a USB webcam. Pick by inputs, budget and who runs it, using the steps below.

Key takeaways
- Blackmagic lists the ATEM Mini Pro at $445 with 4 HDMI inputs, a hardware streaming engine, recording to USB disks and USB webcam output.
- The ATEM Mini Pro ISO ($585) adds 5 record streams, and the Extreme ($1,249) has 8 inputs.
- OBS Studio is free and open source and runs on Windows, macOS and Linux.
- You can use both: all ATEM Mini models work as a simple USB webcam source.
How do you choose between an ATEM Mini and OBS?
- Count your video sources. Cameras, the slides computer and any media player: the Mini Pro takes 4 HDMI inputs, and the Extreme 8.
- Decide whether you want to stream without a computer. The Mini has a built-in hardware streaming engine; with OBS the computer does the encoding.
- Decide what you need to record. The Pro records to USB disks, while the ISO models add separate recordings of the inputs.
- Add up the full cost. A switcher is a one-off price but you still need cables and a way to monitor; OBS is free but needs a computer strong enough for your setup.
- Think about who operates it. A switcher has buttons that volunteers can learn by touch, while software has more flexibility and more menus.
- Consider combining them. Use the Mini for switching and send its USB output into OBS if you want overlays or extra outputs.
Model, price and feature details come from the Blackmagic Design ATEM Mini page, with prices stated as MSRP including duties but not sales tax or shipping, and OBS details from the OBS Studio site, both read in October 2026. A church using an ATEM Mini Pro described in an OBS forum thread from 2021 sends three cameras and a slides feed through it, and another member there said the switcher likely lowers the computer's load because the PC sees only one camera. That is one user's opinion, not a test. Steps 5 and 6 are practical advice.
How do the ATEM Mini models and OBS compare?
| ATEM Mini Pro | ATEM Mini Pro ISO | ATEM Mini Extreme | OBS Studio | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $445 | $585 | $1,249 | Free |
| HDMI inputs | 4 | Not stated on the page | 8 | Whatever your computer and capture devices allow |
| Streaming | Hardware streaming engine | Features of the Pro | Not stated on the page | Computer does the encoding |
| Recording | To USB disks | Pro features plus 5 record streams for clean feeds of the inputs | Not stated on the page | Records on the computer |
| USB webcam output | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not applicable |
An ATEM Mini Extreme ISO G2 also exists at $3,479 with ISO recording of all 8 inputs, but it is aimed at larger productions. "Not stated on the page" means Blackmagic's overview page does not say, not that the feature is missing, so read the model's specifications before buying. For what OBS offers, see OBS vs vMix, and for cables, HDMI vs SDI vs NDI.
How can Planify help you staff the switcher?
Whether you press buttons or click a mouse, someone has to be at the desk on time. In Planify, create a media department with positions such as director or switcher, camera and sound, and add the service as a weekly event. Use a Structured event to assign each position in the Planner, and an Open Call to find extra hands for a special service. Each person gets a WhatsApp message with a confirm and a decline button, the dashboard shows who confirmed, declined or has not answered, and you can mark a member unavailable for a period on their profile. On the Lead plan, automated reminders chase the silent and Smart Auto-Replace asks other suitable members to cover a declined spot. Volunteers need WhatsApp and a phone number on file, and they do not install an app.
The free plan covers 1 department, up to 10 members and 30 messages a month. See the current pricing and media team scheduling for sound, cameras and projection.
Sources
- Blackmagic Design, ATEM Mini.
- OBS Project, OBS Studio.
- OBS Forums, Streaming church service with one computer, February 2021.
FAQ
How much does an ATEM Mini cost?
Blackmagic lists the ATEM Mini Pro at $445, the Pro ISO at $585 and the Extreme at $1,249, as MSRP including duties but not sales tax or shipping.
Can an ATEM Mini stream without a computer?
Blackmagic says the ATEM Mini has a built-in hardware streaming engine. You still need an internet connection and a streaming service set up.
Can you use an ATEM Mini with OBS?
Yes. Blackmagic says all ATEM Mini models have USB that operates as a simple webcam source, so OBS can take its output.
Is OBS free for churches?
Yes. The OBS Studio site describes it as free and open source software for video recording and live streaming.
How many cameras can an ATEM Mini handle?
The Mini Pro has 4 HDMI inputs and the Extreme has 8. Remember to leave one input for your slides computer.




